1.Who is Temple Beth-El?

Temple Beth-El of Birmingham, Alabama, is a Conservative congregation affiliated with the United Synagogue of Conservative Judaism. For over a century, our synagogue has provided an inviting home where Jews of all ages can gather, pray, and learn together. We are an egalitarian shul, where men and women participate equally in all aspects of synagogue life. Our membership includes families with deep roots in the Birmingham Jewish community, as well as newcomers who have been attracted by our welcoming spirit.

Our clergy and professional staff work closely with lay leadership to provide a broad range of worship services, including a daily morning and evening minyan, as well as innovative programming and educational opportunities for children and adults. We encourage you to learn more about us by visiting our synagogue.

2.What does kosher mean?

There are three categories of Kosher food - Meat, Dairy and Parve (or Pareve).

1. Meat - For an animal to be Kosher, it must have split hooves and chew its cud. (Examples: cow, goat, lamb.) Non-Kosher animals include pig, horse, camel and rabbit. Kosher fowl include chicken, turkey, goose, and certain duck. Animals and fowl must be slaughtered by a specialist, called a shochet, and then soaked and salted in accordance with Jewish law. All carnivorous (meat-eating) animals and fowl, and the blood of all animals and fowl, and any derivatives or products thereof, are not Kosher.

2. Dairy - Milk and milk products (cheese, cream, butter, etc.) of a Kosher animal are Kosher-Dairy. These may not be eaten in combination with meat or fowl.

3. Parve - Foods which contain neither meat nor dairy ingredients are called "Parve." All fruits, grains and vegetables in their natural state are Kosher and Parve. Fish which have fins and scales are Kosher and Parve. Some examples are salmon, halibut and carp. Not Kosher fish species include sturgeon, catfish and swordfish. All shellfish, eel, sharks, underwater mammals, and reptiles are not Kosher. A Parve item can become either dairy or meat when it is cooked together with food in either category. (Example: fish fried in butter is considered dairy, not Parve.)

Certain grain products and their derivatives, although Kosher the rest of the year, may not be used during Passover. In addition, in many communities legumes are not permitted on Passover. Kosher for Passover items may be made only with utensils that are Kosher for Passover according to Jewish law.

The separation of meat and dairy products also applies to the utensils used for storing, preparing and serving these foods. Therefore, completely separate sets of pots, dishes, cutlery, etc. must be used for meat and dairy foods. Kosher food prepared in pots used previously for preparing non-Kosher food may become not Kosher.

3.What if it rains?

It is a rain or shine event

4.What forms of payment are accepted?

Cash or credit cards

5.Can I bring a cooler with refreshments?

No coolers are allowed. Patrons may purchase food and drinks inside the gate.

6.Can we eat the competitorís food?

No, due to health department regulations, all for sale products will be cooked and sold by Temple Beth-Elís cooking committee only.

7.What time do Shabbat services start at Temple Beth-El?

Friday night services start at 5:45. Saturday morning services start at 9:30 with a Kiddush luncheon afterwards.


Brenda and Fred Friedman Family Foundation